Posted by: Jocelyn | January 20, 2008

January’s Challenge

January's challenge

Wooohoo !! – I’ve finished my January’s Take It Further challenge. Or at least, I have finished ONE of them. I plan to make another one, as identical to this one as I can get it, and I shall keep one and give the other to my friend, F, who is the person I admire and who inspired this block.

 

I will of course, explain the symbolism in it to her: The main feature is the owl to represent her immense wisdom. The heart symbolises her loving and caring nature towards others, and the cross in the top left is for both her nursing career, and her faith. The 3 “steps” of beads in the top left represent the 12steps she lives everyday, and which have kept her free of her “demons” for more than 20 years without a single slip. The seam treatment of running stitches, going straight through the “obstacles” in the form of pink oblongs and pearl beads, represents the way she faces and handles problems and roadblocks in her life, and the seam treatment of the row of pearl beads consistently placed along the braid stands for the consistency she displays in her recovery and her life.  The roses in the top right are for the roses she planted in memory of her beloved Oliver.

 

This is actually not the block that I first showed in my preparatory work for this challenge. The colours in that one were simply not F’s colours, so I started over, and I am much happier with it.

Responses

  1. The owl is cute! I like how you used it as a symbol of your friends wisdom.
    (I have read your other recent posts: Sharon’s Sumptuous Surfaces course is great as for developing ideas into concept to a finished piece.)

  2. Very nice! Cute owl, and he is just the right size!

  3. I love your piece and the symbolism which you have explained, your friend will be touched I’m sure. Thank you for your kind comments on my piece.

  4. Oh Jocalyn, I love the block. And your explaination is beautiful. What a good friend you are to express all these wonderful symbols. I love the work you do. Did you notice that you and I seem to be the only folks I found that did the first challenge, looks like most went for the colors. I think it is hard to get into a frame of mind that makes you open, there is safety inside of us. We don’t want to expose our feelings in certain ways. Rene

  5. Your block is so pretty. I love the symbolism. I’m sure your friend will cherish it always.

  6. Thanks for your kind word on my blog.

    Your TIF piece is wonderful, a great tribute to your friend ! Especially as Reneorgeron points out, it’s difficult to do a piece on a topic so close to one’s heart, I know I couldn’t do it.

  7. Lovely! I’m sure your friend will be thrilled.

  8. Brilliant tribute to your friend and wonderful peice of art. Well done1

  9. What a beautiful tribute to your friend!

  10. It’s a wonderful piece and I’m sure your friend will be thrilled. The symbolism of each and every stitch is quite amazing.

  11. Thanks for the Flickr link, what a nice way to pay a compliment. The Goons…….are you trying to show my age?. 🙂

  12. This is truly lovely! It is precious and sweet and the softened colors are beautiful together!

  13. Your quilt is wonderful. It is so special that you made it a personal tribute to your friend with the rich symbolism and were able to bring everything together in a cohesive and glorious way. You will bring joy to your friend’s heart, and this will be a treasured piece.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.

  14. Nice job – love the little owl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

