Posted by: Jocelyn | July 29, 2008

Twinchy fun!

July a.
July b.
Here are my first two Twinchies!!

Janet Perry coined the term ‘Twinchy’ in her blog called Nuts About Needlepoint – it is a two-inch square of needlepoint and is inspired by the Inchies currently so popular in embroidery and textile (and papercraft) circles.  Janet has decided upon a monthly challenge to make a Twinchy or two, based on a theme she sets on the first of every month. July’s theme was Letters and Initials.

I wanted to try out a couple of new (to me) variegated threads, and what better way to do it?  The multi-coloured J uses an Anchor thread in the 4 rhodes stitches, and matching DMC for the rest. The intertwined B and J (My husband’s and my first initials) uses threads from the failry new DMC variegated range. Their old ones had long repeats but these newer ones have much shorter repeats so they change colour more often. I love the very pale subtle one I ihave used for the border on this Twinchy.

Twinchies are a lot of fun – a chance to do a little designing of a small piece, and they are quick and as easy or complicated as you care to make them. Why don’t you join in too?

Responses

  1. I just love these, especially the J. That’s one of my favorite color schemes.

    Keep Stitching,
    Janet

  2. These are lovely, love the white on white and the use of the varigated threads

  3. I admire your patience.
    thank you for your comment on my blog

  4. This looks like it would be way toooo much fun.
    I’m looking for fun things between now and the ANG Seminar in Sept.


Leave a Reply

Categories

