Posted by: Jocelyn | October 28, 2008

A Whitework WIP
Back to my sampler of whitework techniques – here is a shot of the sampler so far. I really didn’t want to do a band sampler and I am pleased with the way this is turning out. There are gaps where I intend doing some very lacy work, but I shall leave that till near the end lest it gets stretched while in the hoop for other stitching. You can see a plain pulled thread grid on the right – this is the ground for Casalguidi, but I will leave that till the very end as it is so very 3 dimensional.

I am currently working on a patch with Ukrainian Whitework – a technique I learned during a great class with Pam Eaton, who has researched this technique and written a book. This shot shows one of the features that are typical of this embroidery from Ukraine: a narrow outside border of small satin stitch motifs. I will do 3 bands of different Ukrainian borders, so it will be a mini-sampler within my bigger one.

I am really enjoy stitching this style embroidery. It uses simple stitches very effectively and I love seeing the patterns develop. We have a new dining suite on order, so I am thinking about working a runner in one of the patterns from Pam’s book, to display on our new table.

Responses

  1. this is beautiful work. a table runner like this will be great on the new dining table in the shrink wrapped room!

  2. Jocelyn, This is beautiful! I looked and looked at the enlarged photo on Flickr. Thankyou. The Hardanger is wonderful. The Ukrainian work is lovely. So inspiring.

  3. This is just magnificent! I’ll be keeping and eye out to see how it all ends up. I still haven’t tried whitework yet..but it’s one my to do list – especially after seeing your beautiful work.

  4. Your sampler is exquisite. I hope you are feeling better. gentle hugs,Pat

  5. Jocelyn,
    I’m WAY behind on my blog reading, so this is the first time I’ve seen your whitework sampler. It is absolutely stunning, and I look forward to seeing more of your progress!
    – Jeanne

  6. Oh my goodness! This is gorgeous! I found your blog through Flickr and your pictures there while searching for Hardanger pictures. I love all kinds of whitework and counted thread. This piece is lovely. I agree completely with your comments re creativity and following patterns vs. working out your own.


Leave a Reply

Categories

