Posted by: Jocelyn | May 20, 2009

What a long time since I have posted, but I have an excuse for 4 of the weeks.  Brynley and I were on holiday! We spent 12 nights in Egypt, 13 nights in Italy, and 2 nights in betwen visiting our son who lives in Dubai.  It was just wonderful to stay with him, in his brand new apartment, as we haven’t seen him for a few years. He is working for an American advertising company, as senior copywriter.

I did some blackwork while we were away, but I don’t want to show you too much just yet. Blackwork is ideal for travelling, as a piece of linen, a hoop and a few skeins of floss don’t take up much room in the luggage. This blackwork isn’t black, and I am not yet totally convinced it is going to turn out as I envisage it, but I’m still working away on it.
a corner of blackwork

I really enjoyed Egypt – Cairo was incredible with so many people and so many cars everywhere. Coming from a country with a total population of 4 million and arriving in a city with 5 times that number was a bit overwhelming at first, but I quickly came to love the city. We also spent 3 days in the Western Desert which was one of the highlights, 4-nights on a cruise along the Nile, and 1 night at Abu Simbel, just north of the border with Sudan.

So here’s a photo from the Nile cruise, taken at the traditional galabeya party. Brynley and I all dressed up!
galabeya party

Italy, of course, was superb. Venice first, then one night each in Naples and Pompeii, then 7 nights in an apartment in Rome, very close to the Colosseum.  It was mind-blowing to visit some of the magnificent churches and to think they were built before there were even any people living in New Zealand!

Responses

  1. Welcome back Jocelyn! I’m very jealous of your trip to Egypt – I spent a week in Cairo several years ago and loved it!

  2. how lucky you are – what a wonderful trip. you looked happier about dressing up than your hubby did!.

  3. Yes, and your frock is nicer than his!

  4. Your blackwork is beautiful! Welcome back from your trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

