Posted by: Jocelyn | November 7, 2009

38,368 stitches later

Hmmm….. did I really just add up all the stitches on my Ukraninian Whitework table mat????

Anyway, it’s all finished, and in use on my dining room sideboard.

On the sideboard

It's finished

It is so long since I posted anything here, but I have been stitching and stitching and stitching on this mat, so I couldn’t really post progress pictures, could I? They would all have been the same! Just as well I love doing this sort of embroidery or it could have become very boring. But I just love seeing the patterns emerge as I stitch, and celebrating the completion of one side, then looking forward to another band of needleweaving.

Wait! I did find the needleweaving a bit boring. Oh well. Moving on…..

closeup

It is around 16 inches, 40cm, square and done on 32 count Belfast linen.
As usual, you can click on the picture to go to my Flickr page, then click on “All Sizes” to see a bigger picture.

And now – onwards to something else. And with a bit of luck, more frequent blogging. 🙂 🙂

Responses

  1. This is fabulously beautiful, Jocelyn. A real heirloom! No wonder you havent had time to blog

  2. This is beautiful. All the time and hard work was worth it for such stunning results

  3. So happy to see it finished. I’ve checked back several times since your previous post. It came out great!! Just beautiful.

  4. Congratulations, Jocelyn! It’s gorgeous! Using white thread on natural fabric makes it very elegant-looking.

  5. I have been checking in on your site to see this piece. It is beautiful!! I am thinking about asking for the book as a Christmas gift. Thanks for sharing.

  6. A work of art. Tremendously beautiful!

    Congratulations.

  7. That is just gorgous. You wouldn’t have a spare copy of that pattern would you. I cannot find any patterns/designs of Ukrainian other than what is in Gay’s book. Would be much appreciated.
    …….Louise……………


Leave a Reply

Categories

