Posted by: Jocelyn | January 18, 2010

I think this is it . …

Last time I posted I had deviated away from my original Weathervane quilt block plan, and created a square border of herringbone, and was feeling pleased with things. Well, now I am feeling even more pleased – look what I did next:

154a

I filled in the border with nice smooth stitches, and it looks as though that big diamond is sitting on a solid piece of something. I have no idea what stitch I used to make it solid – I haven’t bothered to learn stitch names because I have always just used whatever stitch looks good. I didn’t need to know it’s name because I just stitched by myself, for myself. But now that I share some of my stuff on this blog, and I am starting to do some things with the online CyberPointers chapter of ANG, maybe I had better start learning some stitch names! So if you know what stitch I used here, perhaps you will be kind enough to tell me?

Anyway, moving right along …. I was not at all happy with those four squares with silly little square motifs in them. So out came the motifs. A couple of snips and they were history.

Then I took out that turquoise metallic from the very centre, and replaced it with a proper blue. The turquoise had been bugging me as it looked out of place with no other turquoise used at all.

Then back to those squares. Now that they are empty again, I have to find something to fill them up. How about one of these?

160a

Hmmmm… the ones on the right have potential. The top right echoes the very centre of the work, and I like the look of the diamond at bottom right. The ones on the left have to go, so let’s try something else ….

162a

Oooohhhhhh – I REALLY like the look of the additions on the bottom right.

So a few more snips to remove the 2 I don’t like, and few more stitches to add in what I do like…..

And it’s finished!!!

166a

I am feeling pretty darned pleased with my first attempt at designing a geometric as I go.

Responses

  1. Wow. This is absolutely gorgeous. You are amazing.

  2. Wow – that is absolutely gorgeous, Jocelyn! Very well done! Of course, I’m now going to have to take careful note of all your blog posts on this to that I can attempt to copy it! Well, sometime, anyway!

  3. Congratulations on a brilliant piece of design work and as for the execution – it is superb as well. I am awestruck!

  4. I enjoyed reading along and seeing the different ideas. Looks fabulous.

  5. Super piece! And so much fun to watch you develop it. Thanks for sharing your progress & thought processes!

  6. en cherchant des broderie de candelwicking je me suis arrêté sur votre site. Magnifique. quel beau travail.


Leave a Reply

Categories

