Posted by: Jocelyn | February 9, 2010

Santa is moving along

Here is my Santa so far, striding along ….
Progress with santa

He is a project available as a correspondence course through the American Needlepoint Guild, and I am so glad I purchased the full kit. Such fabulous threads, that I had never dreamed of!! His jacket is Petite Velvet, and it really is velvety, just gorgeous. And the thread for the snow is Fyre Works – it it a lovely flat thread, a braid I guess, and is has enormous opalescent shine and colours. I have never seen anything like it in a thread before. The gold is also a Fyre Works braid, and most of the other threads are Splendor silk. We just cannot get threads like these here. I was so excited last year to discover the embroidery shop had a full range of WaterColor threads, and lots of other variegated and overdyeds, but they don’t have these fabulous beauties!

Back to Santa – he has some quite dimensional parts – the top edge of his sack is a twisted cord, for instance, and when he is finished he will be carrying a staff with garlands and ribbons on it. And there will be the lovely finishing background and border. And the thread for Santa’s beard and cuffs really is furry – I shall fluff up his beard once I have him finished.

Sometimes I wish I liked to stitch in rotation – I have a couple of things lined up that I can’t wait to get into, but I don’t enjoy rotation stitching. I prefer to finish one thing before moving onto the next. I hate the thought of poor old Santa being consigned, only partly done, to a box while I work on something else. Still I guess that gives me incentive to stitch as much as I can in order to get him done quickly.

As if I need incentive to stitch in every spare moment. Hah! 🙂 🙂

Tell me – are you like me, and must finish what you’ve started, or do you stitch in rotation?

Responses

  1. I just looked through your blog and you have some lovely work. I have emailed a load of people around the world to tell to come look.

    Design a great day,
    Janet M. Davies – New Zealand
    http://www.jmddesigns.co.nz
    http://www.weekendwinner.blogspot.com/

  2. Hi Jocelyn, Beautiful work. If you want lots of different threads remember to keep visiting Ribbon Rose in Ellerslie – they keep adding more and more. I just wish they were on the North Shore so I could visit and drool more often. Instead I just visit occasionally.

  3. Loved the santa. Do you ever use Excel to graph NP stitches? I have heard it is possible but I can’t figure out how to do it? Can you give me any idea of how to do it or is there a book available showing how?
    Thanks for any help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

