Posted by: Jocelyn | June 15, 2010

Tiffany Window – without much window going on

Tiffany window finished

I have finally finished Tiffany Window – the pattern is from the ANG’s Chapter Project Book, and the CyberPointers chapter did it as a meeting project back in March.

As so often happens, I made several modifications! The most obvious is that the original had dark lines going through it to define smaller “window panes” – I decided against those. I also changed the background stitch. I did it all in DMC threads instead of the ones recommended.

I enjoyed stitching this – well, most of it. I really didn’t enjoy the couching around the leaves and flowers, but the effect it gives is well worth it. I also didn’t really enjoy stitching with the gold thread nor the pearlised thread. I would rather use the old rayons I think, and that’s saying something!! However the pearlised thread is just in the centre in a diagonal darning/running stitch so it could have been worse. And having to choose between awkward-to-use thread that is available locally and inexpensive, or ordering an easier-to-use thread from overseas and having to pay shipping etc …  I think I made the right choice 🙂

Tiffany window close-up

I still have to “finish” this piece, but I’m not sure how I will do it yet. I think I might just wrap it around a piece of heavy cardboard, maybe with another piece of fabric-wrapped cardboard behind that, as I did with Diamond Iris. I like the way that one turned out.
Diamond Iris

Diamond Iris 2

Responses

  1. It looks delightful and delicate – I’m glad you enjoyed stitching it!

  2. I like the changes you made and the reasons for doing so make sense. Nice job. Both of these projects are lovely, thanks for posting for us to see.

  3. WOW, this is gorgeous. Great job.

    Just an idea for metallics – Anchor Lame (a 12 strand thread) is a great alternative to DMC metallics (both stranded and Perle). It seems to lay and stitch more smoothly and is also available and reasonably priced in NZ. Think I got my last skeins from Ribbon Rose – I tend to order several skeins at a time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

