Posted by: Jocelyn | July 1, 2010

This is why I love needlepoint so much

A new pattern emerges

This is a perfect example of why needlepoint is my favourite form of embroidery. Still working on Peg Dunayer’s ‘An Evening Waltz’, and since yesterday’s picture I have added a few sprat’s heads. And just look at what has happened. Instead of cute little individual motifs, a hugely new pattern is emerging.

Isn’t that so fantastic? Just adding some sprat’s heads and the whole thing changes so dramatically.

It’s why I love the process of charted needlepoint. I don’t see such a huge change while doing other forms of embroidery, even needlepoint that takes the form of pictures rather than geometric designs. But in designs like this, every layer changes the look entirely.

I find it exciting to watch, and addictive to work. I want to keep on stitching to see what it will look like next.

And here’s what it looks like, with all the sprat’s head done.
An Evening Waltz is beginning

Next comes the metallic embroidery – so stayed tuned for the next new look….

Responses

  1. I feel the same way about charted needlepoint. I get to watch the design take shape and grow across the canvas, especially if I’ve changed the colors, and don’t have a picture of the end design.

  2. I like the pattern..not my colors. I really should get out of my comfort zone more often.

  3. Looking good – and as you say, it really has changed the look a great deal.

  4. Your piece is marvelous – can’t wait to see how it evolves. I share your addiction to anticipating the finished look – isn’t it great to have a hobby that allows you to see your accomplishment while your’re working on it!

  5. You are so kind to have shared your box making instructions. Can’t wait to try doing one. thank you, thank you.

  6. I can’t believe you do that by hand! It’s so, so amazing! I’m loving the pink tones.


Leave a Reply

Categories

