Posted by: Jocelyn | March 27, 2011

Where have I been for 9 months!

I’m back…

Well, after nearly nine months, my blog is springing into action again! Yes, I have a sort of excuse (no, not THAT reason for something taking 9 months ROFL) – but more on that below the picture. Here’s the finished “An Evening’s Waltz” which was the focus of my last post. I am thrilled with how this turned out but now I have to decide what to do with it LOL. When I started it was with the intention of turning it into a bag, but now I am concerned about the embroidery being caught on things and pulled. Ah well, I’ve been pondering it for 9 months, so I don’t suppose there is any harm in pondering for a bit more.

Am Evening's Waltz

My excuse….

The reason for my absence? I haven’t been in the best of health – specifically, I was diagnosed with endometrial cancer (cancer of the uterus) last July and the last 9 months has been quite a whirlwind of treatment and recovery. I had hoped that having a total hysterectomy at the end of July would remove the tumour and fix the problem but unfortunately they found some cancer cells in a lymph node. So removing my uterus didn’t remove all the cancer and I needed further treatment.

So I had six weeks of daily radiotherapy, and also six cycles of chemotherapy, and at the same time I kept working full time. My boss was fantastic about me taking off whatever time I needed, but I wanted to keep my life as “normal” and routine as I could.  I was told I that I would experience fatigue from both the radiotherapy and chemo, but I had no idea it would be as bad as it was. I had no energy for anything else, not even stitching. I was in bed by 7pm most nights, but fatigue is really a severe lack of energy rather than tiredness so sleep didn’t totally overcome it. Anyway, it meant I went for many months without doing any stitching.

And now?….

But now I am stitching again. My energy is coming back. I have had the first of my follow-up appointments and there is no sign of any recurrence of cancer. I am not bald anymore – my hair is starting to grow back. My life is looking great!!  Did I mention I am stitching again?  I have been working on one of Debbee’s Design’s patterns and I will show some work-in-progress pictures soon.

Why am I telling you this?…

I have been humming and hawing over whether to mention my cancer in my blog – I am not one for trying to garner sympathy etc – I prefer to just get on with things. But since my diagnosis I feel I almost have a duty to encourage people to go see their doctor if they have any weird or unusual symptoms. I am so pleased that I went to my doctor as soon as I noticed something different, and didn’t procrastinate or wait to see what happened etc. The longer you wait, the harder it is to ‘fix” some things.

If you notice anything unusual going on with your body, PLEASE go to the doctor straight away. There must be no worse feeling than later on thinking “If only I had gone to the doctor sooner”.

Responses

  1. Jocelyn welcome back to your blog, you were missed! Your message of hope that things can get better and not to let things go is welcomed by all I’m sure. So happy you’re recovering and happy, God bless you. Your stitched piece is lovely too!

  2. I am so glad to see you back…..thanks for sharing. I wish I were close enough to give you a big hug. You are a great example. I look forward to seeing your projects.

  3. Can I echo that. I’ll never be the person I was before they found three different cancers, operated on them all, and treated two with radiation all within 6 months. But I live and breath , and enjoy needlepointing even if I’m not as fast as I used to be. I caught them all very fast and was on the phone to the health providers the very day I spotted the unusual blood. Do not sit in fear and think that it will all be OK, because it won’t.
    Take care…..

  4. Oh, Jocelyn! I’m so sorry you had to go through all of that! ((Hugs!))

    I’ve been wondering what caused your abrupt departure from blogging, and I’m very glad to hear you’re in remission and stitching again.

    Welcome back!

  5. I’m glad you are back and that you kicked Cancer’s ass!

  6. Welcome back and I am so happy to hear you are doing well after a terrible illness and treatment. Evening Waltz is beautiful and I love the colors. This happy piece should get you in the mood to stitch again:) I have pondered bags for stitching pieces before and I agree with you about stitches getting caught. I think I am going to do an evening bag with one piece I am working on. Then again, most pieces are not heirlooms so you just as well enjoy them rather than having to cause a tornado from the heavens when your family puts your needlework on Ebay.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I am still working on my silk gauze project this week so it should get done.

  7. Hi Jocelyn

    I am so sorry to learn what has happened to you. I never gave up. Would pop in once in awhile looking for you. Was surprised that you were here today.

    Cancer is a terrible thing and you are so right about catching it early. 11 years ago I had breast cancer but 1st. stage caught on my yearly mammogram. No lymph node involvement so just had surgery and radiation.

    Last Sept. on urging from my gynocologist I went in for a routine colonoscopy and what did they find but a spot that shouldn’t be there. 2 weeks later I was in surgery and had a section of my colon removed. Again I was lucky as no lymph nodes involved. Just surgery and nothing else.

    Both cases were because it was caught early so I am preaching here to the crowd that these routine tests can save our lives. Don’t hesitate.

    Your piece is really beautiful. I would be worried about a bag also. How about a pillow if you could use the colors somewhere in your house. How about framing it?
    Either would be lovely.

    So glad to see you back and take care of yourself.

    Hugs

    FredaB

  8. I’m also so glad you’re back–
    I too checked in regularly.
    You were missed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

