Posted by: Jocelyn | April 5, 2011

Diamond Delights IV

Diamond Delights IV, stage 1

I’ve started on Diamond Delights IV from Deb Bee’s Designs. I have admired this pattern for ages, and finally sent away for it (and Hot Stuff by the same designer).

There is a lot of hungarian stitching in this, but I am not getting bored with it at all because it is really interesting seeing the colour graduation develop. I have chosen my own colours – green and purples, the pattern is in pinks and browns.

We can only get white needlepoint canvas here, so I coloured some of it a pale sage green for this piece. I just use ordinary acrylic paints from my local craft/hobby store without diluting them at all, and I am very happy with the result. I do find you have to use a lightly-loaded, quite dry brush for best results. Actually, this is the second piece I painted for this project – the first one turned out way too turquoisey so I will have to come  up with something else for that.

Responses

  1. I love the colors! This is going to be stunning!

  2. Enjoy it! I recommend putting a pin in the middle of your double-fan doubled to stabilize the thread as you tighten it for the stitch. I used a long stitch marker.


Leave a Reply

Categories

