Posted by: Jocelyn | April 28, 2011

Delightful Diamonds

Diamond Delights IV is finished …

Diamond Delights IV

… and I love it.
I was concerned all the way through that the purple and green were going to be too bright, but now that it’s finished I’m pleased with my colour choices.

Those double fans in the corner squares were fun to do – you wind the thread around a pin in the centre to keep the tension even, then pull out the pin and it all looks gorgeous.

Diamond Delights IV

One thing I was really pleased with, was that the threads on this are all DMC floss with the exception of a bit of metallic. We just don’t have a big choice of threads here, so good old 6-strand floss forms the basis of my stitching. The pattern did call for 2 different widths of Kreinik braid but my local embroidery store (arguably the best one in NZ) only has #4, so I used that for most of the areas, and doubled it for outlining the big green diamond where the pattern wanted me to use a wider braid.

But blimey, I don’t know how the people with a huge choice of threads do it – I find it hard enough to choose from the limited range I have access to.

Well, next up is ‘Hot Stuff’, another pattern from Deb Bee’s Designs. Gosh she has some fabulous things – right up my alley. I love the look of ‘Tahiti Triangles’ – so many possibilities with that.

But first, I’m off to choose threads for Hot Stuff. That is going to take a long long time I’m sure! Oh dear, the thought of spending all that time in the embroidery shop is a rather attractive proposition! 🙂

Responses

  1. I have always loved those two colors together as they just look great.

    Great job!

    Pierrette =^..^=

  2. It looks lovely. 🙂

  3. The diamond is beautiful. I love the green and purple. The double fans almost look like elaborate flowers.

  4. what a delightful job, amazing pattern and colours 🙂

  5. Hi Jocelyn, Thanks for your comments on my blog. I think we were on the same river cruise. We were on an Avalon trip and it sounds like the excursions were the same. We did get to go to the monistarty and had one of their beers and a pretzel. The kids were not kayaking in the river. The river was moving fast when we were there. It would have been a challenging run. I did see the statute you mentioned in Budapest. I can see how you saw a bottle opener. I have over 200 pictures of the trip and I did not want to subject everyone to my vacation pictures so I just picked a few that represented some of the more fun and interesting places.

    I am glad you enjoyed my pictures. My next trip will not be as exciting. I hope to plant myself on a beach chair and read books for a week. Now I have to get to the gym so I don’t look like a mushy blob on said beach chair…

  6. Hi Jocelyn,

    The green and purple you used for your project really made the design pop! Is there a place where you list your color choices of DMC floss? I would love to make this design using your color palette. Thank you and again, great job.

    Mary


Leave a Reply

Categories

