Posted by: Jocelyn | August 25, 2011

Moving right along…

For Today 4
The colour scheme is developing nicely – two shades of brown, purple and green, and the outlines are a Watercolors thread called Pebbles. However I am not sure about that dark purple because it stands out a bit much I think. I am aiming for more of a harmonious blend rather than having something glaring like that. But I will leave it for now and decide about it after more has been stitched.

When I start or finish a thread, I make sure any weaving of tails is done only in the outlines or the space currently being filled. I don’t weave any thread into a neighbouring space; that way it is very easy to unpick anything I don’t like.

I am also wondering about adding beads to some areas – for example the green and brown at the lower right corner, or the dark brown part further long the bottom. Maybe, maybe not. I will wait till it’s all finished to decide.

I love the dark brown patch on the bottom edge. It’s just a simple, basic checkerboard but with one stitch going across each square at right angles. Very simple but it gives a wonderful texture.

This sort of stitching lets you use all your favourite stitches LOL. Another one that I love doing is the woven effect just above the dark purple. One of the threads I used in that is a dark metallic and I am really pleased with the lift that it gives.

You can see a close up of the stitching by clicking on the photo, which will take you to Flickr, then right click and select “large” or “original” size.

Responses

  1. I love this colorway. I think the dark area will add interest to this piece if you use that color in a couple of other areas and balance the distribution. Beads would be great again if balanced within the design. So glad to hear from you. I was beginning to get worried. Hugs, Jan

  2. Beautiful!

  3. Hi! I like your attitude towards illness etc, I like your great taste in colour and I like your taste in needlepoint!=)

    Keep up the lovely work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

